Author Topic: Tom Pellitieri  (Read 7797 times)

Tom Pellitieri

• Rock Star
  • Tom Pellitieri - Toledo, Ohio
Tom Pellitieri
« on: November 13, 2007, 09:33:46 AM »
Okay... my turn...  ;D

I was born and raised in Tonawanda, NY (between Buffalo and Niagara Falls).  My first programming experience was in High School using RT-11 BASIC on a DEC PDP-11/03 using 300 baud DECWriters.  I graduated from the University of Buffalo with a BA in Computer Science in 1983, and while I continued in grad school, due to family problems I did not complete my graduate degree.  While an undergraduate, I worked for University Computing Services, first as a remote batch terminal operator, and then as a consultant.  Because of this, and the timing of my education, I learned a variety of languages (BASIC, FORTRAN, COBOL, Pascal, LISP), application packages (SPSS, SAS, MINITAB, some graphics packages), and systems (CDC Cyber, DEC VAX/VMS & Berkeley Unix, UCSD pSystem, Z-80 Systems, CP/M, etc.).  I even used Concurrent CP/M on one of the first IBM/PC's available!

My programming career started with a toll collection systems provider.  I also worked for a military contractor on some defense systems.  Most of this work was in FORTRAN, but I also worked with early Macintosh design programs and some assembler.  I learned WordPerfect on a VAX/VMS system, not a PC!  My first home computer was a fully expanded TI99/4A.

In 1991, I moved to work at the University of Pittsburgh in the School of Medicine's Epidemiology Department.  I did a lot of database and statistical analysis to support the faculty's research, mostly in Paradox and dBase III.  My work there led to being a co-author on three papers (published after I left).