Author Topic: Prelude Scheduler  (Read 3223 times)

DonQuixote

  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • To Dream the Impossible Dream...
Prelude Scheduler
« on: January 06, 2017, 12:37:45 PM »
I identified that the Prelude scheduler puts some information about the scheduled jobs in the CONTROL file with the ID equal to      CoNum!SCHEDULE

My question is where is the data for the prompts kept?

Tom Pellitieri

  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 224
  • Tom Pellitieri - Toledo, Ohio
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2017, 01:44:21 PM »
The file SCHEDULER has the scheduling details.

DonQuixote

  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • To Dream the Impossible Dream...
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2017, 09:39:28 AM »
I need to create a program to execute immediately any Job currently in the Scheduler with the inputs already in the scheduler.  Any suggestions?

precisonline

  • President
  • Administrator
  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1612
    • Precision Solutions
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2017, 03:00:58 PM »
I'm not following the question.  You want to find jobs that are in the scheduler and run them independently of the scheduler with the inputs from the scheduler?
-Kevin
Accidents "happen"; success, however, is planned and executed.

DonQuixote

  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • To Dream the Impossible Dream...
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2017, 08:20:37 AM »
Yes, you do understand the issue.

precisonline

  • President
  • Administrator
  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1612
    • Precision Solutions
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2017, 08:44:03 AM »
Intriguing.  The scheduler uses a program called RUNNER that passes in the name of the scheduled job and a specific user and runs that command on a phantom.  Seems that could be run from a slash easily enough.


Look in PROGS SCHEDULE.RUNNER for "B:RUNNER".  If you have a job #53, for example, you should be able to run that job with:


/RUNNER,001!53


This will run the job as your present user in your present workspace.
-Kevin
Accidents "happen"; success, however, is planned and executed.

DonQuixote

  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • To Dream the Impossible Dream...
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2017, 08:46:34 AM »
That sounds fantastic.  Much easier than trying to find the input values and forcing them into the program manually.  Thanks.

precisonline

  • President
  • Administrator
  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1612
    • Precision Solutions
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2017, 10:09:28 AM »
Yeah, it's nice that anything that runs on the scheduler can be run independently this way.  I wasn't sure it'd work until I tried it and then ... wow, that was slick!  It's like when you have a screen with a Process After Screen Accept or Process After Update and can use that in a periodic update to batch post changes to records.  Some things about SB+ are just awesome.
-Kevin
Accidents "happen"; success, however, is planned and executed.

DonQuixote

  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • To Dream the Impossible Dream...
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2017, 05:05:58 PM »
I was thinking of copying the schedule inquiry screen to allow users to see the list of scheduled job and then when they position the cursor to the right line (F2) to execute that job.   What variable tells me what line the cursor is on?

precisonline

  • President
  • Administrator
  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1612
    • Precision Solutions
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2017, 10:09:42 PM »
@CNT will tell you the mv counter on any SB+ screen.
-Kevin
Accidents "happen"; success, however, is planned and executed.

DonQuixote

  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • To Dream the Impossible Dream...
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2017, 10:39:47 AM »
Failed to work. 
I created a Process to execute after-accept from a copy of the scheduler inquiry screen.
 EXEC "RUNNER,001!nnnn"

where nnnn is the job number
 :-\   
@CNT is not passing the screen position so I used @VALUE which is the Job number.
I'm getting the right command but it just freezes.

DonQuixote

  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 204
  • To Dream the Impossible Dream...
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2017, 02:55:10 PM »
 :o  Since processing the command  /RUNNER,001!nnnn    does work by itself but freezes as an After-Accpt process.  I took it out of the screen definition.
I created a (PD.P) process that executes the screen first and after it returns with the @VALUE of the selected item I EXECUTE "RUNNER,001!nnnn"   and it works.   ;D

precisonline

  • President
  • Administrator
  • Rock Star
  • *****
  • Posts: 1612
    • Precision Solutions
Re: Prelude Scheduler
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2017, 10:44:49 PM »
Glad you got it working.  Odd that it just hung.
-Kevin
Accidents "happen"; success, however, is planned and executed.