Author Topic: Joining another forum  (Read 9840 times)

herrmueller

Joining another forum
« on: August 22, 2008, 04:37:55 PM »
OK, So my real name is Jeff Mueller but with so much German ancestry in me, I feel herrmueller fits me better. Since everyone seems to be posting his or her life history, I’ll take a stab at it as well.

Like Kevin, I was born in California (Roseville) and raised in Nebraska on a small farm. After graduating from high school, I went into the Navy for six years, four of which were spent attached to the SSBN 635B (Ballistic Missile Nuclear Submarine). I was a navigation electronics technician, which enabled me to learn and understand systems and processes. I also began to dabble in machine code to troubleshoot Sperry/Univac computers. After my enlistment was over, I was hired by the Measurex Corporation (now a division of Honeywell) and became a field representative in the New England area. In this position, I worked with continuous processes such as paper and plastics manufacturing. The computers were the old LSI11s from DEC and I began to program user interface screens in assembly code. At this point in my life, I met my wife shortly after transferring to Iowa. I attended one year at the University of Iowa in their pre-computer science program and in 1990 we packed up and moved to Colorado. I completed my degree in Computer Information Systems in 1994 from Regis University.

The PICK Life