Author Topic: My name is Ross and I'm a MultiValue programmer...  (Read 9765 times)

Ross Morrissey

• Associate
    • The Ross Morrissey Group LLC
My name is Ross and I'm a MultiValue programmer...
« on: July 23, 2008, 03:21:38 PM »
I frequently start by telling people I've been to Mars - twice.  Now, thanks to Google, I can give directions: http://maps.google.com/maps?q=mars+pa&oi=geocode_result&resnum=0&ct=directions-to&daddr=Mars%2C+PA&saddr=Slippery+Rock+PA

I grew up in Toronto and I spent work terms at the University of Waterloo doing FORTRAN programming modeling air pollution and radio signal propagation among other things.  In 1986 was a government contractor, working on software for monitoring small municipal water pollution control (aka sewage treatment) facilities, when I got a call from "the private sector" - a friend who needed help on a Prime Information AR re-write.

This led to more consulting in the usual variety of MultiValue industries - Medical, Transportation, and Mining.  I was fortunate enough to work at a couple of MultiValue software resellers when Usenet took off, then the Internet.  I rewrote the reporting module - including hooks for making it available on an intranet - in 1997 - for the UV-based academic library automation system then used at MIT, Oxford, and the Vatican Library.

In 1998 I moved to Seattle and got married - and I'm very happy with both moves.  I came to Seattle to work at my only end-user employer - Seattle FilmWorks - with some terrific colleagues and 30 million customer records and eventually hundreds of millions of jpegs archived and managed using UniVerse.  We did amazing things with UniVerse - and robots - and Apache.  In 1999, I launched their data warehousing effort using a new product called DataStage. In 2004 I was wooed away by a small MultiValue software company with 7 employees and a product called MITS - a short walk from my home.